Well ya’ll, in 20 days, we will be truckin ourselves all the way down south to Birmingham, AL.

Alabama!!!…??  This is usually the response I get when I tell people where we will be moving.  The contrast of Alabama to Colorado is obviously apparent.  But well, we are in the mood for an adventure, and I’m pretty darn sure that’s what we are gonna get.

My brother and his family have lived in Bham for 10 years, and my parents moved there 2 years ago.  It’s been 8 years since I’ve lived less than 2 hours away from my parents, and since they moved right when Zephyr was born, we want to be nearby for a little bit for him to get to know his Nana and Pa.  My sweet dad is also undergoing chemotherapy to fight off leukemia that he has had for 10 years and which has come out of remission this year.  Our hearts feel like it will be so good to be close and to support and love my parents through this season.

This move is definitely bittersweet.  We will be saying sad goodbyes to Jonathan’s family and my 2 sisters who also live in Colorado.  Not to mention our wonderful community and friends.  Fort Collins has been so good to us.  This will forever be the land where my bud and I first met and fell in love, where I first held my sweet baby boy, and where I have experienced so much growth and blessing.  We are filled with such expectant hope and purpose as we take this new step on the path in our journey as a family.  We will learn more of what it means to cleave to the Lord and to each other.  One friend told us that he feels that this move is going to be so “rich” for our family.  And that resounds inside of me.  Even though we face many uncertainties with no job, and no place to live as of yet, I know God has great and rich things in store for us.  We are jumping off of this wonderful and mighty cliff and believing that God’s hands will not only catch us, but set our feet on a rock and give us a firm place to stand (Psalm 40:2!).

We leave feeling such love and warmth embracing us.  And we have you to thank for that.  We can’t wait to come back and visit the mountains and snow.  We won’t be getting much of that in hot and humid Bama! I keep saying that living in Alabama will definitely prepare us for living in Africa someday!! : ) baby steps.

Love to you all..thanks for the memories : )

